Animation That's Out Of This World!

A Rankin Bass Celebration

Arthur Rankin Jr.

A couple of weeks ago Animator, producer, director Arthur Rankin Jr. passed away.  Rankin/Bass had a huge influence on my life as a child and hearing of his passing really got me down.  I hope he realized how excited I would get every Christmas to see the stop motion animated specials.  This Christmas my beautiful wife got me Rudolph, Santa Clause is Coming to Town and Frosty on Blue Ray.  And how could I ever forget the Tolkien animated specials  “Where there’s a whip, there’s a way!” still rings in my head from time to time.  But one of my Favorites to this day is the Toho Studios / Rankin Bass collaboration King Kong Escapes! In celebration of Rankin/Bass I present some video clips from his career.  Mr. Rankin, you brought joy and wonderment to so many children, your legacy will never be forgotten. Thank you for making Bumbles Bounce, and for making my childhood so much richer.

Leave a Reply

